Faculty of Arts

Brief History of the Department of English and Literary Studies

Department of English and Literary Studies is one of the foremost departments, not only in the Faculty of Arts, but in the University. The Department is as old as the University. The Department started academic activities on January 10, 1983 with four lecturers and eighteen students. The pioneer lecturers were Dr A.O. Ashaolu, as Acting Head of Department, supported by Dr Ropo Sekoni. Dr R.O. Atoye, all Senior Lecturers and Mr E.B. Uwatt, Assistant Lecturer. Over the years, the Department has since expanded tremendously in the number and quality of staff, students and programs.

The Department runs postgraduate programs up to Ph.D. in core areas of English language and Literature-in-English. The Department provides postgraduate students with a scholarly environment for research and advancement of scholarship, in a manner that allows students to pursue a course of study that is highly individualised to accommodate objectives and bias of each of them.

The Department was first headed by Dr A.O. Ashaolu, who later became a Professor, in an acting capacity. Others who, at one time or the other, had headed Department, mainly in acting capacities were: Dr Oyin Ogunba, Dr D.O. Olagoke, Dr Z.A. Adejumo and Dr C.A. Ibitoye. Others in later years were Professors E.T.O. Bamisaye, S.A. Dada and V.O. Ogbeide. Other former heads were Dr O.K. Owoeye and Dr S. O. Afolayan. The Department is currently headed by Prof. Dare Owolabi.